ROPA Electronic Media Committee (Mike Smith, Naomi Bensdorf Frisch, Taylor Brown – Chattanooga Symphony)

This past year saw the conclusion of the IMA Negotiations, which began in October 29 of 2017, and concluded on April 15, 2019, with a total of 25 days of negotiating meetings in New York and Chicago, and countless hours of caucus discussion and conference calls.

Highlights

- Increases in payment floors, per-minute television rates and pension contributions;
- Changes to revenue participation that allow musicians to share in employer gross, rather than net, revenue;
- Creation of a completely new Multi-Platform Release rate that increases musician compensation for streaming, which constitutes an ever-increasing share of all music distribution;
- Establishment of an Annual Media Commitment Payment structure to reward employers who commit to and pay musicians for media work on an annual basis with slight discounts to IMA rates;
- Clarification of parameters on promotional activity in response to numerous disputes that arose under the 2015-2017 IMA, including an agreed-upon payment to musicians for broadcast and streaming of Star Spangled Banner performances at sporting events;
- Improvements in patch session working conditions; and
- Commitments from the employers to provide paid release time to media negotiating committee members.

The AFM negotiating team included AFM President Ray Hair, SSD Director and Special Counsel Rochelle Skolnick, Symphonic Electronic Media Director Debbie Newmark, Counsel Patricia Polach, Local officers Tino Gagliari, John Acosta, Terri Jares, Pat Hollenbeck, and others; International Secretary/Treasurer Jay Blumenthal, and the rank and file representatives:

Brian Rood, Chairman, ICSOM Media Committee (Kansas City Symphony)

Mike Smith, Chairman, ROPA Media Committee and ROPA President (Minnesota Opera)

Paul Austin, ICSOM President, ICSOM Media Committee (Grand Rapids Symphony)

Dan Bauch, ICSOM Media Committee (Boston Symphony)

Naomi Bensdorf-Frisch, ROPA Delegate at Large to the AFM Convention, ROPA Media

Committee (Illinois Philharmonic, Wisconsin Chamber Orchestra)

Taylor Brown, ROPA Media Committee (Chattanooga Symphony)

Matthew Comerford, ICSOM Media Committee (Lyric Opera of Chicago)

Paul Frankenfeld, ICSOM Media Committee (Cincinnati Symphony

Peter Rofe, ICSOM Media Committee (Los Angeles Philharmonic)

Laura Ross, ICSOM Secretary, ICSOM Media Committee (Nashville Symphony)

Fiona Simon, ICSOM Media Committee (New York Philharmonic)

Meredith Snow, ICSOM Chair, ICSOM Media Committee (Los Angeles Philharmonic)

Submitted by Mike Smith, Chair.

_